nutella banana crepe

Flour Mixtures – Crepe, Waffle, Pancake, French Toast and …Mirin

nutella banana crepe

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day. I love breakfast. I love going out for breakfast, making and decorating my breakfast. Starting out the day with a great breakfast just brings me nothing but happiness and it makes me feel that the rest of the day is going to be great. Here are some of the items that I often make for myself: crepe, waffle, pancake and French toast. I used to always make them according to recipes until they all started to look very similar to me. I started to wonder if they could all just be the same thing.

This is how I see it:

crepe: egg, milk, oil, vanilla extract, sugar, salt, flour

waffle: egg, milk, oil, vanilla extract, sugar, salt, flour, baking powder/soda

pancake: egg, milk, oil, vanilla extract, sugar, salt, flour, baking powder

French toast: egg, milk, oil, vanilla extract, sugar, salt, toast

….. I guess the leavening agent is what separates them?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While I blog about flour mixtures, I want to also write about mirin, Japanese seasoning wine. Mirin is a little sweet and light in taste. I discovered this ingredient when I was about 10, trying to make Tamagoyaki, the egg piece found on tamago nigiri sushi. It is a versatile ingredient. I almost feel that I can use it in everything and anything that I make. Since I currently reside in Japan, like most Asian households, we do not have an oven. I therefore cook more often than I bake and I rarely get my hands on vanilla extract. Mirin is one ingredient that I always have in my kitchen cabinet so I use it to substitute vanilla extract when I make crepe, waffle, pancake and French toast. It is a rather pleasant addition to those breakfast items that I just loooove.

One thought on “Flour Mixtures – Crepe, Waffle, Pancake, French Toast and …Mirin”

Leave a Reply

